Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

England Squad Revealed

17 April 2014

Club News

England Squad Revealed

17 April 2014

Mark Sampson Unveils Squad for Key Qualifier


Mark Sampson has named his squad for England Women’s crucial World Cup qualifier against Ukraine in May.

The Lionesses take on Ukraine at Shrewsbury’s Greenhouse Meadow stadium on Thursday 8 May, in what is set to be one of the toughest matches of their FIFA 2015 Women’s World Cup qualifying campaign.

Sampson makes only one change to his squad that beat Montenegro 9 – 0 in Brighton earlier this month.

Everton’s Rachel Finnis-Brown returns after injury, replacing Bristol Academy’s recent signing, Mary Earps.

After five games, England are enjoying a 100 per cent record so far in the campaign.  Ukraine are unbeaten after three games, recording two wins and a draw last week against Wales.

Rachel Finnis-Brown said: “I am genuinely thrilled to be back in the squad.  After the results we’ve had, there’s not been any real reason to change goalkeepers so I’m so pleased to be given the chance to show the new team what I can do.

“Ukraine will be a tougher game for us, they also have an eye on qualification and we both have unbeaten records we want to protect.

“We’ll go into the game full of confidence though after some great wins and I know we have the talent and ability in the squad to go out there and get all three points.”

Tickets are still available for the game at Greenhous Meadow (KO 7.30pm), from

Goalkeepers – Rachel Finnis-Brown (Everton), Siobhan Chamberlain (Arsenal), Carly Telford (Notts County)

Defenders – Alex Scott (Arsenal), Casey Stoney (Arsenal), Sophie Bradley (Notts County), Steph Houghton (Manchester City), Gemma Bonner (Liverpool), Lucy Bronze (Liverpool), Demi Stokes (Uni of South Florida), Alex Greenwood (Everton)

Midfielders – Laura Bassett (Chelsea), Anita Asante (LdB Malmo), Karen Carney (Birmingham), Jill Scott (Manchester City), Fara Williams (Liverpool), Jade Moore (Birmingham)

Forwards – Ellen White (Notts County), Eniola Aluko (Chelsea), Toni Duggan (Manchester City), Natasha Dowie (Liverpool), Kelly Smith (Arsenal), Lianne Sanderson (Boston Breakers) ENDS

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account