Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Help Us Choose Our Goal Of The Year For 2015

4 January 2016

Send Us Your Favourite Shrewsbury Town Goal Of 2015!

To find out more about The Football League Awards, please visit

Past winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year have been Joe Garner (Preston North End – 2014), Franck Moussa (Coventry City – 2013), Simon Cox (Nottingham Forest – 2012), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City – 2011), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic - 2010), Nicky Maynard (Bristol City – 2009), Sylvain-Ebanks Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers – 2008), Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United – 2007), Joe Ledley (Cardiff City – 2006) and Stefan Oakes (Notts County – 2005).

Fans will be given the opportunity to vote for goals to make the final shortlist of five, with the overall winner being decided at the glittering Awards ceremony at Manchester Central on 17th April 2016.

A judging panel will then review the goals with a selection being shown on Channel 5’s Football League Tonight Show. 

Our nominated goal will then be entered in the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the Football League Awards 2016 held at Manchester Central. 

Once the top ten has been narrowed down, the closing date for the final nomination via YouTube will be at 12pm on 29 January 2016.

The closing date for initial nominations will be at 12pm on 10 January 2016.

We will then narrow down the nominations to a top ten on YouTube where you can then vote for your favourite goal.

- Emailing their nomination to
here - Commenting on the Facebook post
- Tweeting their favourite goal using #SalopGoal15

We want fans to help us decide our club nomination by one of the following:

We can nominate one goal from any Football League competition in the 2015 calendar year, to include goals scored in the Sky Bet Football League, the Capital One Cup [and the Johnstone’s Paint Trophy].

The Football League have launched the search to find the Mitre Goal of the Year for 2015 and we are asking for your help in deciding which of our goals from the last 12 months should be put forward as our nomination.

Advertisement block