Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Squad Numbers Revealed

27 July 2018

Club News

Squad Numbers Revealed

27 July 2018

Shrewsbury Town's Squad Numbers for the 2018/19 season

Shrewsbury Town are delighted to confirm their squad numbers for the 2018/19 Sky Bet League One season.

This will be John Askey’s first season in charge of the Town and he has so far brought in eight new faces, bringing the squad size up to 28 players, including six first and second-year professionals.

There have been some changes from last season with Jon Nolan moving into the number 8 shirt that was previously occupied by Abu Ogogo, whilst Stefan Payne takes the number 9 shirt that was held by Carlton Morris last season.

Of the new signings, Ryan Haynes takes the customary left-back number of 3, whilst Kieran Kennedy will wear 4. Elsewhere, Fejiri Okenabirhie takes 12, Alex Gilliead 18, Doug Loft 19, Aaron Amadi-Holloway 20, Charlie Colkett 23 and Josh Laurent 28.

In terms of goalkeepers, the number 1 shirt has been handed to Joel Coleman with Steve Arnold wearing 15 and Cameron Gregory having number 31.

ShrewsWeb caught up with John Askey to get his take on the numbers.

"I don't think it matters too much who has what number", said John.

"Some players it makes a difference to them, but whatever player you are you've got to earn the right to get into the 11 and I'm sure whatever number, whether you've got 99 on the back of your shirt, you still think you've got as much chance as somebody who's wearing the 9 or 10.

"If they feel as though somebodies getting preferential treatment then it's not what you want, so whoever performs well in the team is what I'm looking for."

A full list of shirt numbers can be found below:

1 Joel Coleman
3 Ryan Haynes
4 Kieran Kennedy
5 Mat Sadler
6 Omar Beckles
7 Shaun Whalley
8 Jon Nolan
9 Stefan Payne
10 Sam Jones
11 Arthur Gnahoua
12 Fejiri Okenabirhie
13 James Bolton
14 Lenell John-Lewis
15 Steve Arnold
16 Bryn Morris
17 Luke Hendrie
18 Alex Gilliead
19 Doug Loft
20 Aaron Amadi-Holloway
21 Abo Eisa
22 Aristote Nsiala
23 Charlie Colkett
24 George Hughes
25 Zak Jules
26 John McAtee
27 Ryan Sears
28 Josh Laurent
31 Cameron Gregory
38 Ryan Barnett
39 Christos Shelis

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account