Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Award-Winning Medical Department

21 May 2018

Club News

Award-Winning Medical Department

21 May 2018

Shrewsbury Town Medicine and Performance team collect League One members award

Shrewsbury Town's Medicine & Performance Team collected the League One Members Award at the Football Medicine & Performance Association Awards last Friday.

This award is designed to recognise the exceptional contribution of a medicine and performance team within a Club and is voted for by members of the Football Medicine & Performance Association.

The award looks at where a medicine and performance teams have worked as a unit, pulled together as a team, achieved great results, worked under extenuating circumstances, been innovative or worked beyond the call of duty.

Chris Skitt and his staff collected the award at the Awards dinner held on Friday 18th May at the Radisson Blu East Midlands Hotel in Derby and Chris was pleased with the award.

“I was absolutely ecstatic for my department to have been nominated for this award by our peers within the football world”, said Chris.

“To then go on and win it is certainly a big accolade. I’m delighted for the staff within the department because in my opinion it is just rewards to a group of people who daily look to push the levels of science and relate that to performance on the pitch.

“Of course, special praise has to go to the management team, without their belief in the process there would be little success. Similarly both the Chairman and Brian for showing the faith in me and allowing us to set up the intervention we have seen this year.

“The players have been extremely open to the ideas we have suggested and their cooperation has been second to none, we really do have a special group of lads this year.

“To win any award is a truly special recognition, but I feel it carries more weight when the award voted by those in the same profession as yourself. We have one more game to make it a truly special and memorable seasons for everyone related to the club, and I know my department will be doing all we can to make history. “

Special thanks:

George Bunce
Marc Lindsey
Aaron Lambley
Sam Mitchell
Adam Henshall
Chris Fortune
Chris Godwin

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account