Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Match Reports

Match report: Doncaster Rovers 0 Shrewsbury Town 1

22 December 2020

Match Reports

Match report: Doncaster Rovers 0 Shrewsbury Town 1

22 December 2020

Town earn a third consecutive win with a 1-0 victory over Doncaster Rovers.

Shrewsbury Town’s trip to Doncaster ended with another three points heading home for Christmas.

Aaron Pierre’s second half goal was enough to send the Shrews home with a third consecutive win.

An eventful evening of football began with Doncaster Rovers claiming the better chances of the opening 15 minutes. Former Town man Fejiri Okenabirhie looked a continual danger on the break and caused Town some problems.

The first real chance for Salop to take the lead didn’t come until 10 minutes after the break. Shilow Tracey was fouled on the wing and that gave Shaun Whalley an opportunity to cross in a ball. Aaron Pierre jumped highest and headed the ball into the far side of the net.

Second half substitute Leon Clarke nearly doubled Town’s lead with just over 70 minutes on the clock. Tracey drove forward with the ball and smartly played in Clarke. However, the Salop forward narrowly missed the target with a chipped effort.

Matija Sarkic was called into action in the 80th minute – making a sublime save. Donny managed to guide a powerful effort towards goal but the Salop shot-stopper tipped the ball over the bar for his team.

After sustained pressure, Town saw the game out and secured another valuable win on the road.

The teams:

Rovers: Joe Lumley, Brad Halliday, Reece James, Tom Anderson, Ben Whiteman, Fejiri Okenabirbie, Jon Taylor (Jason Lokilo, 74), Matt Smith, Taylor Richards (James Coppinger, 80), Tyreece John-Jules, Andy Butler.

Subs: Louis Jones, Joe Wright, Jason Lokilo, Danny Amos, Cameron John, James Coppinger, Lirak Hasini.

Town: Matija Sarkic, Aaron Pierre, David Edwards (Shilow Tracey, 45) (Scott Golbourne, 87), Ro-Shaun Williams, Shaun Whalley, Ollie Norburn, Josh Vela, Matt Millar, Charlie Daniels, Daniel Udoh (Leon Clarke, 69) Ethan Ebanks-Landell.

Subs: Harry Burgoyne, Scott Golbourne, Leon Clarke, Shilow Tracey, Josh Daniels, Marc Pugh, Jason Cummings.

Referee: James Oldham

Assistants: David Avent and Peter Gooch

Fourth official: Oliver Bickle


Taylor Richards was shown the first yellow card in the game for a foul on Shilow Tracey in the 52nd minute.

Matt Smith was booked in the 90th minute for a foul on Leon Clarke.


Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account