Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Supporters POTY Awards 2019/20

12 June 2020

Club News

Supporters POTY Awards 2019/20

12 June 2020

The Supporters Parliament are hosting a Virtual POTY Awards Night on 26th June 2020 which will be streamed LIVE on YouTube and Facebook at 6:30pm

On Friday 26th June 2020, The Supporters Parliament will be hosting a virtual Supporters Player of the Year Awards. The night will be streamed for free LIVE on the club's YouTube and Facebook. 

The event will last approximately 1 hour which will then be followed by an 'Awards Afterparty' where Ewan McVicar who has been tipped to become one of the hottest names in dance music, will headline the night alongside two well known Salopian DJs, James Hearle and DJ Salopia who will perform back to back sets from inside the Meadow.

Ryan Jervis and Stuart Dunn will be LIVE at the Montgomery Waters Meadow on the night where they will be 'joined' by special guests...

A big thank you to the SP for organising and for Proud Salopians, South Stand Flags, Super Blues Club, The OSC, Away Travel Club, Salopcast and the STFC Away Supporters FC for all coming together to help us put on this Awards night which is a little different to normal, given the unprecedented times we are currently in.

Roger Groves from the Supporters Parliament who has been fundamental in making this night possible, provided us with a few words about the occasion.

"Despite the current situation we all find ourselves in and following this weeks announcement that the 2019/20 League 1 season is over, the Supporters Parliament on behalf of all our Supporter Groups and wider Shrews Family can now announce our plans to look back over the season as we do each year.

Of course, this year cannot be like last year so please join us online at 6.30pm on Friday 26th June where we can celebrate together, recognise the players and our Football Club and also some of our own supporters too."


The Award categories of the night are as follows;

  • Player of the Year
  • Young Player of the Year (U21)
  • Player's Player of the Year
  • Goal of the Season
  • Top Goal Scorer
  • SP Shrews Family Award
  • The Chris Smith Special Recognition Award


Voting is now open! - Link to vote:


Goal of the Season
Watch the Goal of the Season Top 10 shortlist below:

Link to vote:


SP Shrews Family Award
There are four nominations for this award as follows...

a) Brian Jones - Brian has worked as a turnstile operator for many years as well as working on a voluntary basis for the club doing some maintenance work at the stadium and helping maintain the Memorial Garden.

b) Barrie Davies - a regular attendee at SP meetings and a regular Away Travel user and member. Barry can be found on a match-day outside the West Stand selling programmes.

c) Andy Tretton - Having made 113 appearances for the club, including that famous Great Escape game at Exeter. Andy returned to the club as Corporate Manager in April 2008 and has since worked tirelessly in building up the corporate side of the club bringing in some very lucrative sponsorships into the club.

d) Sib Hayes - Sib has managed the club shop for the last 18 years from the humble beginnings of the portakabin at Gay Meadow to what you see today, as well as helping out in the Ticket Office from time to time. Well known amongst many town fans Sib will always give you her views but always has time to listen to supporters and try and help them out.


The Chris Smith Special Recognition Award
There are four nominations for this award as follows...

a) Rob Lewis - Rob is a regular attendee at Supporter Parliament meetings where he takes the notes and writes up the minutes of those meetings. Rob also looks after the social media for the SP whilst also playing a huge role within the OSC as a committee member.

b) Stuart Dunn - our local well-known commentator who has followed the club since he was 8 years old, Stuart would regularly be seen turning out for the Away Supporters team on a Saturday morning before commentating on the match and then having the job of the first interview with our Manager post-match. Never one to turn down a chance to help out our supporters and never afraid to ask those difficult questions.

c) Justin Gill - Justin played a massive part in helping get the Loggerheads badge back as our official club badge. He also supported the introduction of Safe Standing and more recently he has been proactive in leading the South Stands Flags group in creating a fantastic atmosphere in the South Stand.

d) Danny Davies - Danny came up with the idea of raising money to provide a signpost at the stadium, he single-handedly raised in excess of £1200 for what is now known as Smithy’s Post. Danny has also recently made donations to the Safe Standing project and the Omar Beckles trust to name just two. He also runs the hugely popular ‘First Goal raffle’ on the Away Supporters coaches.


By voting for the Supporters POTY Awards 19/20, you will be entered into the Free Prize Draw...

In this Draw, you will have the chance of winning...

- Aaron Pierre's FA Cup shirt (Home Shirt worn when he scored the winner vs Bristol City)
- Jason Cummings' debut shirt (Third shirt worn when he scored vs AFC Wimbledon)
- Max O'Leary signed Goal Keeper Gloves
- 'Thank You NHS & Key Workers' Limited Edition 2019/20 Home Shirt

Only entries which belong to supporters with genuine supporter numbers and details on file at the club will be eligible for the prize draw.

Winners will be selected at random and will be announced on the night. (Friday 26th June 2020)
The event will be streamed LIVE on YouTube and Facebook.

Link to vote:


** VOTING CLOSES ON 19th JUNE 2020 **

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account