Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Match Reports

Match report: Shrewsbury Town 2 Lincoln City 2

10 August 2021

Match Reports

Match report: Shrewsbury Town 2 Lincoln City 2

10 August 2021

Shrewsbury Town progress into the next round of the Carabao Cup after a penalty shoot-out win.

Marko Marosi was the first keeper tested with just over 10 minutes of the fixture gone. Teddy Bishop managed to sneak through on goal but his curling effort towards the far post was well claimed by Town's shot-stopper.

Town had their own chance to find the breakthrough in the 23rd minute. Ryan Bowman got on the end of a smart through ball from Elliott Bennett and managed to let off a shot. However, Imps number one Josh Griffiths got two strong hands to palm away any danger.

The away side managed to find the breakthrough early in the second-half. The Imps started the quicker of the two teams and managed to hit Town with a swift double. Tom Hopper notched first after meeting Cohen Bramall's inch-perfect cross, and Bishop followed it up two minutes later in the 52nd with a great strike from distance.

Despite a difficult start to the half, Dan Udoh halved the deficit in the 69th minute, seconds after entering the pitch as a substitute. After a goalmouth scramble, Town's forward swiftly latched onto a loose ball well inside the box to slam home a driven finish past the 'keeper.

Dan Udoh found his second goal of the night two minutes before the 80th. The forward picked up the ball on the outside of the box, earned half a yard of space, and proceeded to dispatch a spectacular driven shot right into the bottom corner of the net; giving the goalkeeper no time to get down.

After a sublime comeback from Steve Cotterill's men, the Imps managed to hold on to send the game to a penalty shoot-out. Town triumphed with Salop academy graduate Tom Bloxham knocking home the final penalty.

The teams:

Salop: Marko Marosi, Elliott Bennett, Matthew Pennington, Aaron Pierre, George Nurse, Luke Leahy (Josh Daniels, 65), David Davis, Nathanael Ogbeta, Josh Vela, Ryan Bowman (Dan Udoh, 65), Rekeil Pyke (Tom Bloxham, 85).

Subs not used: Harry Burgoyne, Shaun Whalley, Charlie Caton.

Imps: Josh Griffiths, Regan Poole, Lewis Montsma (Lasse Sorensen, 68), Max Melbourne, Cohen Bramall, Connor McGrandles, Teddy Bishop (Lewis Fiorini, 72), Max Sanders, Tom Hopper, Anthony Scully, Hakeeb Adelakun (Remy Longdon, 72).

Subs not used: Sam Long, Tayo Edun, James Jones, Jovon Makama.

Attendance: 2069 (236)

Referee: Andy Haines

Assistants Adam Ricketts and Matthew Smith

Fourth Official: Scott Tallisgeneric-web-article-banner.jpg

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account