Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Match report: Shrewsbury Town U18 0 Scunthorpe United U18 1

3 November 2021


Match report: Shrewsbury Town U18 0 Scunthorpe United U18 1

3 November 2021

Shrewsbury Town bow out of the Emirates FA Youth Cup.

The first goal of the fixture came within six minutes of kick-off. The away side broke the deadlock through Jack Moore-Billam as Iron number seven found space in the box to fire a low shot into the back of the Salop net.

Shortly before the 15-minute mark, Jenson Cooper stung the palms of the away side's 'keeper. Following smart dribbling on the edge of the box from Louis Lloyd, Cooper was slipped in but couldn't beat the keeper from a tight angle.

With Lloyd looking lively and continually dangerous, the away side were struggling to cope. On the 60-minute mark, that frustration showed as Scunthorpe conceded the first card of the game for a foul on the forward.

Callum Wilson came close to pulling Town level moments later with a powerful strike from distance. The full-back latched onto a loose ball 25 yards out and managed to fire an effort on target. Unfortunately for Salop, Owen Foster made a solid save to deny.

Town were pushing and pushing and came inches away from finding the deserved equaliser. Jenson Cooper was able to fire a shot at goal but the away side's goalkeeper was able to make a spectacular save from close distance to keep their lead intact.

Despite Town's best efforts and sustained pressure in the one half of the pitch throughout the second half, the away side remained resolute to see out the win.

The teams:

Salop: Rhys Thompson, Callum Wilson, Josh Bailey (Amarie Brown, 87), Declan Hutchings, Ben Crompton, Ben Kaninda (Demi Akinwe, 87), Nana Owusu-Gyimah (Kelechi Etienne, 61), Josh Barlow, Jenson Cooper, Jamie Speirs, Louis Lloyd.

Subs not used: Sam Brown, Harvey Kirby-Moore, Savy Vicente, Dennis Antal.

United: Owen Foster, Nathaniel Wallace, Harry Lewis, Jamie Moore, Ethan Young, Oliver Lobley, Jack Moore-Billam, Joshua Robertson, Harrison Poulter, Tyrell Sellars-Fleming, Harvey Cribb.

Subs not used: Benjamin Franklin, Harvey Elliott-Bell, Charley Strouther, Benjamin Pike, Charlie Burden-Whittleton.


Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account