Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Match Reports

Match report: Wigan Athletic 2-0 Shrewsbury Town

11 November 2021

Match Reports

Match report: Wigan Athletic 2-0 Shrewsbury Town

11 November 2021

Town out of the Papa John's Trophy after a 2-0 loss to Wigan.

Shrewsbury Town were eliminated from the EFL Trophy following a 2-0 defeat away to Wigan Athletic on Wednesday night.

Steve Cotterill’s men only required a draw at the DW Stadium to progress from Group C, but goals in both halves from the current Sky Bet League One leaders, ensured Salop didn’t go through to the latter stages of the competition.

Salop started the game brightly and nearly took the lead after just 30 seconds when a long range shot from about 25 yards by Sam Cosgrove was well saved by Jamie Jones in the Wigan goal.

But it was the home side who took the lead after just eight minutes when defender Adam Long rose highest from a Tom Pearce cross to head Wigan in front.

Salop had a chance to equalise on the brink of half time when Aaron Pierre rose highest from a free kick but couldn’t get a good connection on the ball and headed over.

Half-time substitute Shaun Whalley had a golden opportunity to get Salop back on level terms on 52’ minutes when he did really well to flick a ball over a Wigan defender but could only fire his shot straight at Jones.

Salop then found themselves 2-0 down just a minute later when a mix up between Ethan Ebanks-Landell and George Nurse allowed Chris Sze to run through on goal one on one against Harry Burgoyne before dinking the ball over the Shrewsbury keeper to double Wigan’s lead.

Luke Leahy had a driven shot at the Wigan goal saved late on and despite several corners and crosses into the box, Salop couldn’t find a way past the Wigan defence.

Attendance: 1121

The Teams:

The Latics: Jamie Jones, Tom Pearce, Gwion Edwards, Gavin Massey, Thelo Aasgaard, James Carragher (Divin Baningime, 21’), Adam Long, Luke Robinson, Scott Smith, Baba Adeeko (Tom Costello, 77’), Chris Sze (Harry McHugh, 77’)

Subs not used: Sam Tickle, Max Power, Callum Lang, Charlie Hughes

Salop: Harry Burgoyne, Luke Leahy, Ethan Ebanks-Landell, Aaron Pierre (Shaun Whalley, 46’), Sam Cosgrove (Charlie Caton, 74’), Josh Vela, Nathanael Ogbeta (George Nurse, 46’), David Davis, Tom Bloxham, Khanya Leshabela, Callum Wilson

Subs not used: Jaden Bevan, Ryan Bowman, Rekeil Pyke, Elliot Bennett



Referee: Scott Oldham

Assistant Referees: Richard Woodward, Paul Graham

Fourth Official: Scott Simpson



Callum Wilson was booked after just three minutes following a foul on James Carragher.

Luke Leahy was then booked on 84 minutes following a heavy tackle on Gwion Edwards.

Four minutes later after 88 minutes Scott Smith was booked for Wigan following a late tackle on Shaun Whalley.


Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account